WORKING WITH QTP

TestEveryThinG

QTP does not record the application

Posted by rajivkumarnandvani on May 5, 2009

  1. Make sure your application must be open after opening the QTP tool; otherwise QTP does not record the application. So always open QTP first and after this open the Application.
  2. Check Record and Run Options setting in QTP Tool setting

You can reach on this setting by Menu selecting Automation > Record and Run Settings.

Make sure your setting should be like this if not change according to it

QTP

QTP

Radio button selection should be Record and run test on any open Windows-based application.

1. Check Addis is loaded or not for your Application

First you should know which application you are going to record its WEB application or windows application

For Web Application following Addin should be loaded( In RMS)

Web

.Net

.WPF

Active X

Java

For Windows Application following Addin should be loaded (In RMS)

.WPF (GIS)

.Net   (GIS)

Visual Basic

Active X

Check addin is loaded or not by menu option select File->Setting

Addin

Addin

Check addin is checked or not If not then do the following steps

1. Go to menu Tools->options following Window will appear

If check box not checked then it will shown in Display Add-in Manager on startup checkbox

addin

addin

Close the QTP and again open the QTP Application. Now on startup of QTP Addin window will Appear like this select requred Addinf as per need your application

addin Manager

addin Manager

58 Responses to “QTP does not record the application”

  1. Ranjit said

    Rajiv,
    It is really a good topic for the for the freshers because they always face the problem of qtp not recording on thier application.Good job friend. Keep it up.

    Thanks
    Ranjit

  2. Thanks man. I am just trying to help who does some basic mistake while using QTP.

  3. saritha said

    I could not able to record script for web flight application in QTP9.2.I tried to do the following above by going to settings but the MODIFY button is inactive where i caanot check the web addins check box.Please help me in resolving the issue.

  4. Hi saritha,

    Please mention ur environment ,are you windows XP OR vista if vista please off your user control option in user account
    details.
    And please make sure ur web addin is loaded or not . I already mention in same blog how to check web addin option

  5. Ash said

    Hi,

    I have done the same setting on QTP 10 with above environment, still facing same problem. let me know the solutions.

    Thank

  6. hi Ashok,

    Please refer this one too if you are using VISTA
    https://rajivkumarnandvani.wordpress.com/2010/04/21/qtp-not-recording-web-application-in-vista/
    Or incase if you are not using Vista then try to reinstall

    Thanks

  7. Ruchi Tyagi said

    HI,
    I am facing a problem while doing automation in my project.
    Our application is .net application with WPF
    When QTP is opened, I am not able to open my application’s WPF pages. (Rest is working fine with QTP.Problem is with WPF related pages only)
    I tried out a lot on net but nothing found.
    Can anyone of you help me regarding this??

  8. Hi Ruchi,
    It seems like issue related with qtp and .wpf , my suggestion would be to put this issue in hp forum
    http://forums13.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/familyhome.do?familyId=121

    thanks

  9. ruchityagi said

    I am not able to record my application with QTP.
    Application is on .Net 3.5 SP1 framework

  10. ruchityagi said

    Hi Rajiv,
    This got resolved.
    Problem was with ActiveX control add-in
    I disabled this add-in, and application’s pages got open.
    Anil Sir gave this solution.

    Thanks

  11. Hi Ruchi,

    Very good , nice to hear that your problem get resolved. It seems you did not read this blog in full i already mentioned what needs to be check ed
    Thanks

  12. Jawahar said

    I followed all the steps mentioned here, but still unable to record. I am new to qtp. Please help me to find what else can be done.

    I have qtp10. ie8, windows7

    Jawahar

  13. hi Jawahar,

    also try with object spy, Is object spy able to identify the web objects ( like web button ,link etc)?
    make sure web addin and acitive x control is loaded. Still you are not able to record the application just reinstall the QTP application with full administrator right and user account control must be off.
    https://rajivkumarnandvani.wordpress.com/2010/04/21/qtp-not-recording-web-application-in-vista/

  14. Jawahar said

    Thank you very much Rajiv. I turned user account off and it start recording.
    I am new to testing and QTP. Can you guide me from where to start learning?
    Once again thanks for the valuable advice.

  15. Most welcome
    just start the tutorial of qtp and qtp help file is the best book for qtp learning
    best of luck

  16. Jawahar said

    Hi Rajiv,

    I recorded simple test to see if google search is working. The script is as follows

    “With Browser(“Google”)
    With .Page(“Google”)
    .WebElement(“Make Google my homepage”).FireEvent “onmouseover”
    .Link(“Make Google my homepage”).FireEvent “onmouseover”
    .WebEdit(“q”).Set “obama”
    .WebButton(“Search”).Click
    End With
    With .Page(“obama – Google Search”)
    .Link(“Advanced search”).Click
    End With
    With .Page(“Google Advanced Search”)
    .Sync
    End With
    .CloseAllTabs
    End With”
    Please let me know if I did it right?

    Thanks

  17. Ashwini said

    Hi Rajiv,

    I am using QTP 10, Record button is not working as sson as script is not generated, after setting the above given condition.
    Please give the alter solution for this.

    Thanks

  18. hi Ashwini,
    please refers the comments of this blog
    https://rajivkumarnandvani.wordpress.com/2010/04/21/qtp-not-recording-web-application-in-vista/

  19. Ashwini said

    Hi Rajiv,

    I have tried this also, but not getting satisfactory solution for record button and script generation.

    System configuration: OS Version- XP
    Service Pack- 2
    Internet Explore 8

    specially for Web Application.

    Thanks
    waiting for Positive reply.

  20. hi Ashwini,
    As you said you have done all things which are mentioned in the blog.
    just check with object spy are you able to identify the web object means object spy is identifying the web object or not if not then check web addin and ActiveX must be loaded.
    still you facing the problem just reinstall the QTP and you can try with IE7 instead of IE 8

    best of luck :)

  21. Ashwini said

    Hi Rajiv,

    “In Manage add-in pop window, both Web and Active X has been loaded.
    2ndly, QTP reinstallation is done more 5 time for above configuration as I mentioned earlier

    Object spy is not working during the recording.

    Thanks.

  22. Hi Ashwini,

    Open the QTP with all available addin. Without clicking recording option just click object spy then check

  23. Ashwini said

    Hi Rajiv,

    Without clicking Record option, the Object spy is not working. also the script debugging is not occured.

    waiting for solution.

    Thanks.

  24. Hi Ashwini,

    you saying object spy is not identifying the web object.
    just try with QTP 9.5 then try with QTP 10
    Still facing the prob Replace the system

  25. Ashwini said

    Hi Rajiv,

    I am not getting exact ans why i should install QTP 9.5, since QTP 10 is updated version.
    using for web application only.

    Is Record button having some problem in its coding; during installation (say some .dll file may be deleted from registor editor).

    Thanks.

  26. See can’t say could be many reasons.
    with QTP 9.5 we can check is that prob with QTP 10 or OS OR something else
    This is last from my side.

  27. Ashwini said

    Hi Rajiv,

    can you tell me whats OS requirements for QTP 9.5 and QTP-10?
    QTP10 records the flex apllication but not web application(.NET2).

    Hope you ll get exact environment from my side.
    Thanks

  28. Ashwini said

    Hi Rajiv,

    Zend Technologies does support to QTP10?

  29. Hari said

    Hi Rajiv,
    I am new to QTP. i am learing to record the flight application in qtp11 demo version.I am unable to record the first step of open filight reservation application. It starts recording only from the second step -Agent name and PW.So, when I run the script if fails.Pls advice how to make this script to run.

  30. Hi hari,

    how do you want to record the application means do you want qtp record open application step? if so then make sure your record and run setting for windows application should like as per mentioned the blog.In QTP there is two way to this if select second option that says record only that which open by QTP and there you can define the application exe path so it will open the application from mentioned exe path.
    You can reach on this setting by Menu selecting Automation > Record and Run Settings.–> Windows Applications
    I hope it will help you
    Best of Luck

  31. Ashwini said

    Can’t we execute the QTP9.2 scripts in QTP10.0 directly by providing the path??

  32. Hi,
    If you are using OR as descriptive language then you can run else you have to save one time your testscript in QTP 10 for running it smoothely.

    Thanks

  33. Nivedita said

    Hi Rajiv,

    OS: Windows XP
    IE version: 7.0
    QTP: 10.0

    QTP was not able to open IE when activeX control add-in is selected.
    I tried without adding active x and QTP was able to open IE

    Do you know how to fix this issue

    Thanks,
    Nivedita

  34. Hi Nivedita,

    I did not face this issue :(. what do mean by not able to open IE. Is QTP able to record web application when you selected active x addin. make sure you have selected default addin VB , WEB , ActiveX.

    thanks

  35. Nivedita said

    Hi Rajiv,

    Thanks for your response,

    IE is crashing after launching from QTP.

    Have tried with the following options.
    1. SystemUtil.Run “iexplore”
    2. InvokeApplication “C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe”
    3. opened the browser from “Record and Run settings” option.

    I have tried to open the IE Manually also. It is crashing If QTP is already opened.

    I have unchecked Activex Control and tried to open the IE. IE was stable at that time. But QTP is unable to identify the activeX objects in IE application.

    Note: I didn’t install script debugger, is it necessary to install script debugger

    Thanks,
    Nivedita

  36. Hi Nivedita,

    I am not sure. it will work or not . you can try with script debugger. OR you just reinstall the QTP. Please let us know what is outcome of this. Still it does not work then you can post this issue on HP site.

    Best of luck.
    Rajiv

  37. venkat said

    Hi,

    Iam facing a similar issue wrote by Hari above. Iam using QTP 11 demo version on Windows 7 Home Basic.

    Problem : I opened QTP and start recording flight application i.e, open flight application and click on cancel button.. But only the following code got recorded
    Dialog(“Login”).WinButton(“Cancel”).Click

    1) Record and Run Settings are exactly same as you have mentioned in the blog
    2) I completely disabled user control option in control panel (did a system restart as well)

    What is the problem I’m completely lost in the first step itself

  38. Hi,

    Please refer this http://testeverythingqtp.blogspot.com/2011/04/qtp-11-installation-issueserrors.html
    if still does not solve the problem then reinstall the qtp after user account control turn off with administrator rights..

  39. Hi,

    I had installed QTP 11 on my laptop which is of Win 7 (32-bit)

    I had loaded Active X, Java and Web Plug-ins.

    But still I’m unable to record web application events.
    Even the Object Spy unable to identify the objects.

    Launched QTP using “Run as Administrator” still problem persists.

    Can any one please help me out regarding this?

  40. Anonymous said

    Hi Rajiv,

    What are the text box common properties we should check in vb script like is it enabled, will it accept special characters, and how much length the text box will accept?
    What are the other common properties we should check while write the script

    Thanks
    Vimal

  41. Hi Vimal,

    You can use QTP standard checkpoint or using descriptive language refer getroproperty .

  42. prithviraj chavan said

    I am not able to record window application on QTP 10. QTP is installed on Windows 2008 server on a Virtual machine.
    I want to record the process of reading registry values, server manager settings, computer management,calculator etc.
    But QTP records the Flight application but the first step is not recorded (SystemUtil.Run….code is not recorded..need to add manually)
    I have checked all the settings.
    Run and record settings–> Window application : appropriate checkbox is checked.
    Add-ins–> All the add-ins are in place
    user account–> Set to never notify
    Admin–> I am having admin rights on the machine on whic QTP is installed.
    Still not able to figure out the reason for not recording.

    any idea what may be the reason

  43. Hi,
    I am not sure QTP 10 will support Windows 2008 server or Please read the installation procedure /guideline.
    I think QTP 11 will work.

    Thanks

  44. Hetal said

    Hi,

    When I start recording it opens IE and navigates to proper URL but after navigating to URL if I click on any button or ling the code is not generating :(( What to do?

  45. Anonymous said

    I am using trial version of QTP11. I am able to start record but after navigating to perticular website mentioned in Run settings if I click on any button or any link QTP is not recording the code. What should be the issue?

  46. rashmi said

    i am not able to record web application, but able to record window application, in web only able to record web site close (Window(“Windows Internet Explorer”).WinEdit(“Edit”).SetSelection 0,34), i am using demo version of qtp 10, in window 7

  47. Jatin said

    I am not able to record a .Net 3.5 application. The addins selected are .Net, ActiveX, WPF and VB. QTP version used is 10.0. All the objects are identified as WinObjects. Please suggest a solution. I have heard of NetAdvantage but completely unaware of how to install and use it. Will it solve my problem.

  48. kiran said

    Hi All,

    I have qtp 11. trial version,i am trying to record stand alone application after recording when i Run the same script it gives me this error

    Cannot find the “Innovasys ButtonPlus Control” object’s parent “frmCommissions” (class VbWindow). Verify that parent properties match an object currently displayed in your application.

    also i have a problem in adding the object in object repository even if the object hirachy is allready there in OR if i add another object from same hirarchy it gets added all the object again which are all ready there in OR because of which the duplicate object will not highlight in the application.

    Do i have to change some setting for adding Object in OR.

    My company wants to buy QTP 11 and i have to figure it out its is working fine with the applications and i have less time to it so

  49. kiran said

    I have qtp 11. trial version,i am trying to record stand alone application after recording when i Run the same script it gives me this error

    Cannot find the “Innovasys ButtonPlus Control” object’s parent “frmCommissions” (class VbWindow). Verify that parent properties match an object currently displayed in your application.

    also i have a problem in adding the object in object repository even if the object hirachy is allready there in OR if i add another object from same hirarchy it gets added all the object again which are all ready there in OR because of which the duplicate object will not highlight in the application.

    Do i have to change some setting for adding Object in OR.

    My company wants to buy QTP 11 and i have to figure it out its is working fine with the applications and i have less time to it so

  50. Read something about repository manager in QTP help. Where you will find removal of duplicate Objects.

  51. Yugandhar said

    i am using qtp 10, but object spy didn’t recognize objects. which version browser i want to install

  52. http://h30359.www3.hp.com/hpsw/QTP_00644.EXE
    http://h30359.www3.hp.com/hpsw/QTPWEB_00037.EXE for IE8
    use these two but don’t upgrade your browser to IE 9.
    Check below links. It may help.

    http://www.ehow.com/how_7594375_connect-remote-computer-vbscript.html
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa905872(v=sql.80).aspx
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms190622.aspx

  53. Nish said

    Hello Rajiv,
    My active screen is always blank and I am unable to view anything while running my tests. I have enabled the active screen and also set it as default. Can you help pls?
    Thanks
    Nish

  54. Anonymous said

    Hi,
    I just downloaded the HP qtp 11
    I really only need the flight reservation application, but I do not see it anywhere. Where is it hiding so that I can open it?
    I went to programs, Hp, and there are no menues that open up with the flight app.
    I am running windows 7.
    Thanks

  55. Anonymous said

    hi
    I just downloaded hp qtp 11. I did open an account at HP, and they sent me a confirmation. But, when I downloaded the qtp 11, I did it from somewhere else.
    So, when I went back to my account at HP, requesting my “seat license”, they show that I didn’t download this product fromt them, so at their site they don’t see that I have any product that requires a license.
    Do you know how I can get a seat license WITHOUT having to go through this long download again?
    Also, is the flight reservation app. also included with qtp 11 ?

    Thank you

  56. Anonymous said

    hello,
    I have downloaded the qtp 11 but got stuck when during installation i was asked for me seat license (for the trial)
    I did go to HP site, and signed up, but since I did not do the download via my signed up account on their site, they have no record that I “purchased” this product, so on their site they say we have no record of you having this product. So, they don’t have the seat license for me?
    can you please advise me how to get around this. I don’t want to go through another very long download of this product and start all over again.
    Thanks

  57. Hi Rajeev,
    When i am spying the winedit, winbutton, wincombobox all object as winobject thats why i can’t continue record my script at window based application developed in .net framework 3.5 so plz could you send me add ons link for .net 3.5.

  58. just go through HP qtp site. they will help you

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

